x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Apple iPod touch 4th generation User Reviews

8.4 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera6.3/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality3.7/10
Battery7.7/10
Reception7.1/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality8.4/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed8.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

nick1324
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 09:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

8

Blablabla

nick1324 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This is an iPhone 4 without a phone it's an awesome device for general uses
I owned it for more than 3 years and it still working perfectly the back of it is more likely to get scratched the wifi is power full and watching videos on it is good the sound is awesome for a tiny speakers like that

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samsunglover
posted on 27 Oct 2013, 14:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Oct 2013)

6

its good but.........

samsunglover has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Ive had this Ipod for a few years when I first got it, it was a decent device
but now I am getting tired of it lagging and randomly exiting the app I am in. So it is a good device to start off but if you want a good experience I would recommend either a phone or a ipad.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • not much

Cons

  • alot

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

itouch4g
posted on 01 Oct 2013, 10:28 (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Oct 2013)

9

Great smartphone without the phone.. "Smart device" if you'd like

itouch4g has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Second to none if considered for school and college students..
Even though iOS 6.1.3 does lag on the iTouch, and most apps being updated only for iOS 7 from now, it is a great device for entering into the touch devices category. A stepping stone to smartphones if you will..

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10 Wifi reception
Call quality 2/10 NOT A PHONE !!
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10 Dont ask .. please
UI speed 7/10 iOS 6.1.3 lags
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xxch3yxx
posted on 13 May 2013, 18:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 May 2013)

9

Pretty much the same as iPhone 4

xxch3yxx has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This iPod is very similar to the iPhone 4. The only major differance is theres no calling and phone signal or 4g. Overall, its a very quick and handy iPod. My only complaints are that the screen breaks way too easily even with a case. Also, photos can turn out very grainy, not so much in natural light though. Overall, its a wonderful device!

Build quality 9/10 screen cracks easy but metal helps get rid of a cheapy feel
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • beautiful display
  • similar to phone
  • metal back keeps from feeling cheap
  • speed

Cons

  • screen cracks easy
  • grainy pictures
  • only runs off wifi

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vincelongman
posted on 26 Mar 2013, 03:35 (Posts: 1047; Member since: 10 Feb 2013)

7

iPhone 4 without 3G, siri, and GPS

vincelongman has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

With Wifi it is nearly iPhone 4.
Great for Internet, iOS is fast, Display is great, Music player is very good, AppStore still the best, Battery life is long.
But video playback is limited, iOS isnt as customizable, screen is small, must use iTunes for sync, camera quality is poor.

Build quality 7/10 Back is made of a metal that is far too soft, I always have my case but the back is covered in scratches.
Reception 7/10 Wifi reception cut off if you dont use it
Call quality 1/10 only microphone is on back and not that great
Internet 8/10 Great, good battery life while on Internet. But small screen.
Multimedia 5/10 Great music player, but no manual equalizer. Video player can only play a very limited videos formats. Also you have to use iTunes to sync which is slow.
Camera 5/10 Poor quality, only 0.7 megapixel
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10 Small screen makes keyword harder to use, more typos
Display 9/10 Great brightness, colour reproduction, decent black levels, high pixel density. But light leaks.
Battery 9/10 Great for average usage, I sometimes I accidentally leave music playing in the background for nearly 5 hours, uses just over 30%. But drains quickly when play a heavy game, for example FIFA 13 uses battery up in about 30 minutes

Pros

  • Retina Display
  • AppStore
  • Jailbroken iOS
  • Great music player
  • Good CPU
  • Small size and very thin
  • Good design
  • Many compatible accessories

Cons

  • iOS
  • Must use iTunes sync
  • Limited video playback
  • No GPS
  • Camera quality
  • Small screen
  • No file bluetooth transfer

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tggoulart
posted on 11 Aug 2012, 18:21 (Posts: 24; Member since: 22 Jun 2012)

8

great device

tggoulart has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The iPod touch is absolutely amazing, it is just like the iPhone 4 but it doesn't have 3G and doesn't make calls, and it costs only 200 dollars. There are some nice features like the HD 720p recording, retina display A4 1ghz processor, imessage, game center, facetime, and it will be upgraded to iOS 6 which is great. After a long time with it, it became a little slower on the speed UI and the battery life gone bad, the worst of it is that it doesn't have a memory ezpansion. But however the app store has more than 600000 apps I can't complain fort that! Conclusion: it's a very good device for the the price, its time has been gone (it was launch in 2010, long time passed) but it is still a good device and I hope apple will launch a new one on September!!!

Build quality 8/10 Super thin but a little bit insecure
Reception 8/10
Call quality 5/10 The speakers are quite bad
Internet 10/10 Really fun browsing on internet, it is just super smoothly
Multimedia 9/10 Many resources from iTunes and the music app is good but could have more thing like the equalizer
Camera 6/10 Back camera really bad for taking photos but the video recording is good
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 10/10 I like it a lot!
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • retina display
  • 1ghz processor
  • 720p video recording
  • really good text input
  • iOS 6
  • low cost

Cons

  • no memory expansion
  • no flash player

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sandu92
posted on 02 Aug 2012, 05:05 (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Aug 2012)

9

Simple and cute.

sandu92 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Well this was my first Apple device, and it felt cool to have it. You could immediately feel that cool look. Well all the Apple products seem very shiny and fashion.
But nothing more than that. I feel more comfortable with Android because I'm an advanced user.
But I think it's a good device. Right now I gave it to my mom cuz it's a simple device and I think she likes it a lot (now she can also use Yahoo messenger and speak to relatives). This little cutie can be used even by people who never touched smart devices. Easy!!!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10 Good Wifi reception.
Call quality 9/10 Good stuff.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 Apple has always been very shiny in this sector.
Camera 8/10 It's alright.
UI speed 6/10 Hmm. After some months it starts to delay and get "rusty".
Everyday usage 8/10 It's nice. But I feel very limited.
Text input 9/10 Yea it's cool.
Display 9/10 Good looking.
Battery 8/10 It's good.

Pros

  • Easy to use.
  • Simple UI.
  • Good looking.
  • Fashion.
  • Nice Wifi Reception.

Cons

  • No Flash Player.
  • Very limited!
  • Multitasking

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wolverinexmen9
posted on 16 Jul 2012, 00:10 (Posts: 76; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)

8

IPod Touch 4Gen

wolverinexmen9 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

IPod Touch 4Gen, White, 32GB (as of 7/15/2012: software on 5.1.1) I bought the Ipod Touch for manly music. Now I use it everyday. It's like an IPhone but you can only use wifi when available and it doesn't have calling. It's also like an IPad but you can put it in your pocket (cough cough). ITunes backs up all my stuff (pictures, contacts, notes, games, messages, calendar, videos, etc...) Camera is very low megapixels (0.7 back, 0.3 front) After a year or more the home button becomes a little pushed down (settings, general, accessibility, assistivetouch: turn on for on-screen home button) Use the messaging app with some friends, very useful (can only text Ipod, IPhone, & IPad users) I set up facetime but none of my friends want to face chat (can't review that part, neither can I review iCould) Depending on what you use it for the battery will depend also. I can go 2 days before it dies and that's just music alone. Games kill battery really quick, somewhere between 2 to 4 hours on one game (have a charger near by) Turn off Location to save battery. Bluetooth doesn't work with my Android Phone so must work with only apple products. Safari (web browser) crashes a lot if on internet for a long time or big websites. App Store is very nice. Game Center comes in handy with playing games with friends. I would recommend this to a friend. *NOTE: (Did NOT jailbreak it)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 1/10 Not a phone
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 2/10 1: Because it has a camera(0.7) 2: Because it has a front-facing camera(0.3)
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10 Just like IPhone
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jordan.300
posted on 11 Jul 2012, 16:06

10

iPod touch 4th-gen Review

jordan.300 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

OK, this thing is amazing! I was so happy when I got it because it was my first iProduct. It does everything I want it to! I could not be any happier. It's a great device and I can't wait to get a new case for it. (Overstock.com Blue Diamond TPU Case for iPod touch 4th gen)

Build quality 9/10 Great design, however, home button doesn't feel secure.
Reception 10/10 Wi-Fi
Call quality 10/10 FaceTime quality is exceptional in my area.
Internet 10/10 You gotta love Safari!
Multimedia 10/10 It's an iPod!
Camera 10/10 iOS has a great Camera UI.
UI speed 10/10 Super Fast!
Everyday usage 10/10 I use it all the time!
Text input 10/10 I love the default iOS keyboard.
Display 10/10 Big, bright retina display.
Battery 10/10 Lasts me all the time.

Pros

  • Design
  • Operating System
  • Storage
  • Camera UI
  • iOS
  • App Store + iTunes
  • Very Fast
  • High, High Resolution Screen (330 PPI)
  • Light, Thin, and Small

Cons

  • Home Button Doesn't Feel Secure

jordan.300 alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nsnk86
posted on 29 Jun 2012, 12:57 (Posts: 43; Member since: 18 Jun 2012)

9

A must have music device for all music lovers. An iPhone without phone

nsnk86 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Wonderful display, high pixel density + great retina display. Though it has a vga cam, it still records 720p HD video amazingly + its got 2 cams. Unfortunately cam lacks auto-focus. Fast processor. I always have it with me.

Build quality 9/10 slim design, but back is prone to scratches
Reception 10/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 10/10 though oly wifi, but stil luv the safari browser, works gr8!!
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 gr8 720p hd recording, but lacks auto-focus. image quality is fine.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • gr8 retina display
  • fast processor
  • 2 cams
  • full access to App Store & iTunes
  • has most of the iOS 5 features.

Cons

  • no GPS
  • no USB mass storage
  • no auto-focus cam

nsnk86 alternatives:

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kangaskhan9
posted on 14 Mar 2012, 16:29 (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Mar 2012)

7

iPod touch - A bit less that an iPhone minus the phone

kangaskhan9 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The iPod touch 4 is a great overall device, packing a decent battery, great screen (while not as great as the iPhone's), two cameras, and the iOS ecosystem. But it's hampered by its inherent attraction to scratches, low resolution camera, and other minor omissions that won't be missed by most people, but become glaring omissions to more advanced users like me.

Build quality 7/10 Very solid (given due to the bar design) But the back is a scratch magnet :( and the glass screen doesn't like falls, as many of my peers' iPt4's have broken screens.
Reception 1/10 Not a phone cannot judge
Call quality 1/10 No phone component, can't judge
Internet 9/10 Good browser and app selection. some minor annoyances, but works, and works well.
Multimedia 10/10 It's an iPod, of course multimedia is good
Camera 5/10 No Auto-focus No optical zoom No LED flash Low resolution (.7 MP) shoots good video
UI speed 8/10 Apple put a lot of work to make sure iOS works fast. It does, and lag and loading times are well disguised. No true multitasking though, don't expect a 3D game to still be open when you leave it. Most tasks are meant to be instantly easy to use, which is a double edge sword. +: Easy. -: cumbersome
Everyday usage 9/10 Great for the average joe, but the avid multitasker and jailbreaker may want to look a bit higher up.
Text input 7/10 OK virtual keyboard, auto-correct over-corrects though, and there is no physical keyboard (<- depends on the user)
Display 10/10 one of the best avaliable
Battery 9/10 Great games kill it fairly quickly though

Pros

  • slim design
  • great display (640x960)
  • front facing camera
  • runs iOS
  • many compatible accessories
  • processor isn't slow
  • easy for anyone to use
  • uses iTunes
  • iCloud + other iOS 5 features

Cons

  • Lack of RAM (256 MB)
  • Sub-par camera (uber-low resolution, no autofoc
  • runs iOS
  • proprietary connector
  • non-removable battery
  • ease of use may annoy power-users
  • limited bluetooth support
  • no GPS
  • no USB mass storage support
  • requires iTunes
  • sub-par multitasking

kangaskhan9 alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CharlieTheNinth
posted on 30 Nov 2011, 14:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Nov 2011)

9

Always in my pocket!

CharlieTheNinth has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I use this brilliant looking thing all the time. In the mornings to read the news, at school I'm not allowed to use it, in the evenings to play games, at night to listen to music. It's a very reliable device that almost never fails. And it's only 199! :)

Build quality 9/10 The back scratches way too easily. A cover for your iPod is almost obligatory.
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10 It's not a cellphone so...
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 Pictures, bad quality: only 0.7 Megapixels. HD video, 720p, pretty smooth. No autofocus.
UI speed 9/10 Not as fast as on the iPhone, but still very fast.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 The retina display is an eye-candy. :)
Battery 8/10 Not sufficient for heavy gamers.

Pros

  • Awesome device for that price. Thin, fast, light and it does everything you want.

Cons

  • The camera does a great job shooting video, but taking pictures is much less impressive with the iPod Touch.

CharlieTheNinth alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mrinmay Bhattacharjee
posted on 21 Jun 2011, 10:47

8

Highly Recommended for all Music Fanatics

Mrinmay Bhattacharjee has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Super Awesome Product - A must buy for Music Freaks and for all those who loves to watch videos and play games on the move.

The Retina Display is awesome and iOS makes the product top notch

A highly recommended and must buy product for all Music Fanatics, Gamers and Movie Buffs!

Build quality 8/10 Too sleek
Reception 1/10 Not a Phone
Call quality 1/10 Not a Phone
Internet 9/10 Works only with WiFi
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 0.7 MP Camera - Although capable of making 720p HD Videos. Photo Quality is somewhat below average
UI speed 10/10 Thanks to iOS
Everyday usage 10/10 Great for Music Lovers, Gamers and Movie Buffs
Text input 10/10 QWERTY in iOS is super smooth
Display 10/10 Awesome Retina Display
Battery 9/10 Depends on usage, though more than sufficient

Pros

  • Retina Display
  • iOS
  • Awesome Music Quality
  • A4 Processor

Cons

  • Lacks GPS Chip
  • Lacks 3G as no SIM slot

Mrinmay Bhattacharjee alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kpoguido
posted on 22 Apr 2011, 13:19 (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Nov 2009)

10

Is the iPohne without the phone

kpoguido has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

With the wonderful Retina Display, recording in high definition, and the fast A4 Chip. IS A iPhone WITHOUT THE PHONE.

En Español: Con la maravillosa pantalla Retina, grabacion en HD, el veloz A4 Chip, y su bello y fino diseño. Es el iPhone sin el telefono.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 Wi-Fi Recption
Call quality 1/10 Don't is a phone
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Retina Display
  • A4 Chip
  • HD Video Record

Cons

kpoguido alternatives:

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories