x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Apple iPad Air User Reviews

8.4 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8.9/10
Text input8.1/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed8.9/10
Call quality8.9/10


Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

posted on 12 Feb 2014, 21:16 (Posts: 292; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


The king of the hill... for now

xtremesv has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Except for the iPad 3 I've owned all iPads and after a disappointing experience with a Samsung tablet (I got it because I love my Galaxy phone, big mistake) I returned to the iPad buying the fourth version and now the Air. Obviously the design language is mini-esque and you can tell it's lighter without compromising its premium look, my only complaint is the "glass" of the display which has a plasticky feel to it, everything else is excellent, superb display, very nice audio, amazing battery life, the best selection of tablet-optimized apps and accesories. Apple must not rest on their laurels though, competition is closing the gap quickly and one of the things Apple ought to change immediately is the premiun asked for larger storage options, $100 for doubling storage is insane nowadays you can buy a 64 GB SSD for $60.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10


  • Quality display
  • Long battery life
  • Powerful graphics processor
  • Clean audio output
  • Best apps and games for a tablet


  • Display glass feels plasticky
  • Expensive with larger storage capacities
  • iOS still can do better on the iPad
  • Lighting adapters are expensive
  • No Touch ID

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 30 Nov 2013, 06:02 (Posts: 23; Member since: 30 Sep 2013)


Powerful And Slim

User72042 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

We're All Familiar With iPads But This One Is a Huge Upgrade From My Previous iPad,The First Generation Mini,Display Is One Of Those Huge Upgrades,Plus That Fast A7 Chip,But iOS Still Needs Some Work,And The Camera Is Nothing To Write Home About Plus It Lacks Flash,And iTunes Is Not My Favourite,But The Build Quality Is Awsome,Overall Its screen is identical to the one we know from its predecessor - a 9.7-inch Retina Display with oleophobic coating and resolution of 1536 by 2048 pixels. Under the hood, Apple has chosen to install its A7 chip, which is the very same 64-bit SoC powering the iPhone 5s. As a result, the new iPad is two times faster than the previous model And Connecting to the internet is done either via Wi-Fi, or over a 4G LTE network, Apple's iOS 7 operating system is loaded onto the tablet, with iPhoto, iMovie, GarageBand, Pages, Numbers, and Keynote apps included at no cost.

Build quality 10/10 It Feels Great But Needs a Case
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 4G On This iPad is Blazing Fast
Multimedia 8/10 iTunes Is Not Very Easy To Use
Camera 8/10 5 Megapixel Is Good,But 8 Megapixel Could Be Alot More Better
UI speed 10/10 Its Really Fast Thanks To Its A7 Chipset
Everyday usage 10/10 Combination Of Fast UI And Battery,Makes Most Of Your Valuable Time Not Wasted
Text input 10/10 Auto-Correction Is Very Useful In Some Cases
Display 10/10 As Great As Always
Battery 10/10 Enough For Me


  • Great Display
  • Slim And Light Weight
  • Great OS And UI
  • So Many Designed-For-iPad Applcations Plus iLife Applications
  • Powerful Chip
  • Enough Battery For Me


  • Lack Of MicroSD
  • Camera Could Be Better
  • Too Much Dependent On iTunes

User72042 alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 17 Nov 2013, 09:11 (Posts: 40; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)


Thinnest ipad air with more power inside

htainlintha has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is just lighter, but compare this tablet to my Note 10.1 2014 edition,it isn't much competitive to it. The screen is just as the same as ipad 4, from this I should have bought ipad mini 2. Multimedia and the rest are quite OK with me. Battery life is among the best out there. I am a bit hateful about itune as ipad rely too much on it,I can't connect it to any PCs/Macs and clouding/syncing needs itunes, which is quite bad for me as I use windows 8 for both of my work and home. When android can do everything over the air,no software support is needed. Great app store is there to support the fame of ipad. 5mp camera sucks though I don't use too often.iOS7 is too boring now and too limited in usability.Unfortunately this is my last idevice.So,after using it for 2 to 3 weeks I just give it to my one of the younger cousins.

Build quality 9/10 Aluminium with thin bazel. Feels so premium.
Reception 9/10 No problem with that.
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is great no complaints.
Internet 8/10 Great usage.Works great.
Multimedia 4/10 The file it can accept is too choosy compare to Android.
Camera 5/10 5MP can't take good vids and images.Pictures are a bit over saturated though most looks good on its screen.
UI speed 9/10 iOS7 is so fast and fluid. Though has some occasional lag but barely noticeable.
Everyday usage 7/10 It is quite a breeze to use it who just wants simple ones,but too much simplicity makes the tablet so dull. For example, I am not a sammy fan,though note 10.1 2014 is my first android tablet and it is marginally heavier and thicker,it packs with so much more features+better hardware+top notch mlti-tasking.So advanced yet so simple.Just my opinion though.
Text input 4/10 Just ok but really wish it could be changeable when stock isn't my favorite.
Display 5/10 9.7 inch with scree resolution of 1536x2048 doesn't match the price they ask for while Nexus 10 and ASUS transformer pad are out there.
Battery 8/10 Outstanding battery life.


  • Simple OS
  • Super thin and light
  • Great biuild quality
  • Great battery life
  • App store
  • Bettter multi-tasking than former ipads gens


  • No expandable memory(but can have up to 128GB)
  • 5MP camera isn't good enough
  • No flash
  • OS is too limited and tiring
  • iOS 7 lags occasionally
  • No features
  • video and music files are too choosy
  • Blue tooth problem
  • No touch ID(may be in ipad air 2,but I wish to have it personally,tablet needs it more than phones for many reasons)

htainlintha alternatives:

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 09 Nov 2013, 14:13 (Posts: 137; Member since: 24 Dec 2011)


awesome tablet

zunaidahmed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is awesome compared to other android tablets out there. keeping in mind that other have a quad core processor and hell a lot higher frequency, apple still manage to keep up the pace even with a dual core 1.4 Ghz processor. it's just amazing. I think the only other company can design processors as good as apples' is intel.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10


  • light!!!!!
  • good display
  • extremely fast
  • good camera compared to other tablets
  • lots of software
  • different storage capacity to choose from


  • can only use iTunes to transfer media
  • needs to wait for jailbreak to unleash for potential unless willy to pay a lot of money

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 01 Aug 2015, 13:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jul 2015)



tom2000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought it for much money and it worked pretty good but then the problems came aftera month it suddenly crashed so i went to a repair shop well after another 2 months it crashed again so bought another tablet and this one works perfect.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?


posted on 06 May 2014, 08:21 (Posts: 2; Member since: 06 May 2014)


The Power of Lightness

Shahriyar has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

You have to hold iPad Air to believe it. It’s just 7.5 millimeters thin and weighs just one pound. The stunning Retina display sits inside thinner bezels, so all you see is your content. And an incredible amount of power lies inside the sleek enclosure. So you can do so much more. With so much less.
The new A7 chip in iPad Air was designed with 64-bit architecture.So you get incredible power in a device you can take with you wherever you go.
The redesigned Smart Cover and Smart Case are a perfect fit for iPad Air. They automatically wake it when opened and put it to sleep when closed. They also fold to create a great stand for reading, viewing, and typing. And they come in a whole range of colors. So they don’t just work smart, they look smart.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10


  • Great os
  • Great ui speed
  • Very Thin & style
  • Nice body quality
  • A great music player
  • Loud speaker
  • Nice display
  • Beautiful


  • It doesn't have touch id
  • No flash for behind camera

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 20 Mar 2014, 01:02 (Posts: 2; Member since: 18 Jul 2012)


This is it!!!!

pmgvsa5 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have the samsung galaxy note 3 . But for tablet the iPad Air is the best that I ever have . It is incredible fast in web browsing and now with the last update in 7.1 it's more flexible. We'll done to Apple .

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 My ipad it's wi fi
Internet 10/10 It s the best devise for internet serf!!!!
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10 Now with the update it's perfect.well done to Apple!!!!
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10 Apple must fix the numbers in the keyboard such us samsung. Numbers must appears all the time.
Display 10/10 Excellent
Battery 9/10


  • Display, internet browsing perfect, quality


  • Only the numbers in the keyboard

pmgvsa5 alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 02 Jan 2014, 14:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jan 2014)


iPad Air

efono has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its unreal how the quality of this device is its camera is the best of the best it has an a7
64 bit proceccor and its thin as a pencil and it feels like you are holding nothing its so light if you dont want it to brake then dont be clumsy and stupid and hold it everywhere you go for no reason

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10


  • everything


  • nothing

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?


posted on 12 Mar 2015, 03:59


The best tablet that I have, and possibly in the world

Elroy_Goh has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Speedy, sleek and satisfaction. These are the three words that describe the excellent iPad Air. Using it ever since I bought it on the first day it was released in 1 November 2013, the iPad Air is an excellent table has has brought me great joy to use. Upgrading from a 1st generation iPad from 2010, the iPad Air has all the qualities that make an iPad special, and along with a super-slim design that is comfortable to hold, lightning-fast because of the powerful A7 and M7 chips, and coming along with the essential critically acclaimed and user-intuitive iOS 7 and iOS 8 (I upgraded), the iPad Air is a tablet that is simply the best in its class. Too bad there isn't Touch ID.

Build quality 10/10 An excellent build design that changes from the bulky design from the iPad 2 to the iPad with Retina Display.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 FaceTime works pretty well. The cellular data iPad could actually be your phone if all your contacts have iDevices, cellular data and FaceTime and iMessage enabled.
Internet 10/10 The 4G LTE is excellent.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 More camera modes, settings, features and a greater MP camera would be welcome. Too bad there isn't a LED flashlight.
UI speed 10/10 The critically acclaimed iOS 7 and iOS 8 does its job well.
Everyday usage 10/10 Destined to last for years
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Could have an upgrade, as the 2K screen is the worst among tablet competitors. But the screen is brilliant.
Battery 10/10 I LOVE the iPad Air because of this. I once played Minecraft with my friends (multiplayer) for almost a whole day and I could not believe my eyes when I saw that the battery level was still 50%! You certainly will waste 1% every 30 mins, which is super-long battery life for a device like the iPad.


  • Great slim and comfortable design
  • Lightning fast due to A7 and M7 chips
  • Critically acclaimed iOS 7 and iOS 8
  • Made for long-term sustainability, just like Apple iDevices released in 2013 and later
  • Super long battery life


  • No Touch ID
  • Camera can be improved, and no LED Flashlight
  • Display can be upgraded

Elroy_Goh alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?


posted on 07 Nov 2013, 04:00


A balance between Air and Pro

Alvin has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

iPad Air is definitely the best iPad from Apple , and it is the best tablet in stock right now . iPad Air continues the innovation since the original iPad . It is everything an iPad (4th generation) , adding stronger processor and a few new features , but in a body that is 24% smaller . Built with environmental-friendly materials such as aluminium and glass . High-class and solid unibody construction . A beautiful Retina display . 64-bit desktop-class processor , which will be significantly faster when playing heavy-duty games and using professional applications . It is a great step forward in the future development of iPads . All iLife and iWork apps will be available for free too which is just killer . If Touch ID is present and the camera has been improved . No one can compete with it . I used to own an iPad (3rd generation) . When I hold iPad air and use it for the first time , it's wow !

Build quality 10/10 Apple did a great job here . Built with high-class materials , distinct-feel buttons . It is the gold standard in tablets . No one is reaching the iPad Air . At just 7.5mm thin . It is really thin . And the Wi-Fi model I am using weighs just 469g . You have to hold it in order to feel it . it is unbelievable .
Reception 9/10 Downloading things and surfing the web are lightning fast . However , it seems that I do not benefit anything with MIMO Wi-Fi technology .
Call quality 9/10 We cannot call people with an iPad . However , the built-in speakers is really really good . It is loud and clear . It would be better if the package also includes Apple EarPods .
Internet 10/10 Safari is the best browser ever created for a mobile device , even a computer . It is fast , fluent , useful ... You won't accept other browsers after using Safari .
Multimedia 3/10 Multimedia is the worst part in the iPad Air . The Music and Video apps are still lack of features , and the worst part is , it costs a lot . Who wants to pay a lot for music and videos which they can find on Youtube or other third-party apps which is free ? The 4:3 aspect ratio screen is great for surfing the web and playing games , however , when it comes to watching videos , it is really not a joy to do .
Camera 5/10 The iSight camera is fairly good . In daytime , the pictures quality is acceptable but you won't find many details as it is just a 5-megapixel sensor . It is even worse in low-light , resulting in a lot of noise . Video are ok , though , but it is not the case in low-light . And worst of all , it is still missing a flash . The camera UI is easy to use , but it is lack of features . Neither slow-motion video nor burst mode found in the iPhone 5S are present on the iPad Air . Panorama is of course , still absent .
UI speed 9/10 The A7 chip which is based on 64-bit architecture is blazing fast . Loading games , surfing the web , using pro apps is faster than ever . However , there is a few lagging . I think it is because iOS 7 has not yet been optimized for the iPad , as I never find this issue on my iPhone 5S .
Everyday usage 10/10 Everyday usage is fast and fluent . It is easy to use . Nothing to complain about .
Text input 10/10 The voice-dictation and auto-correct features make text input a joy to do on the iPad Air . And the screen is large , I seldom get typing mistakes .
Display 9/10 The 9.7-inch Retina display on the iPad Air is gorgeous . It is sharp , great contrast and viewing angles . Colour reproduction is very accurate . Outdoor visibility is never an issue to worry about . The 4:3 aspect ratio is great , but it will never be the case when it comes to widescreen videos .
Battery 9/10 The battery life is great on the iPad Air . You are able to get a full-day usage in one charge even if you surf the web a lot or playing intense 3D games like the Infinity Blade 3 . However , the battery will soon die if it is in maximum brightness . Best of all , the battery is smaller than ever , which means that charging time can be up to one thirds faster than the previous generation . It takes roughly 4 hours to charge from 0% to 100 % , and it gives you about 8 hours of battery life .


  • Unibody construction
  • Beautiful display
  • Very fast
  • Very capable
  • Easy to use
  • Great battery life
  • Many storage capacity available
  • iLife and iWork apps are all free


  • Horrible Multimedia
  • Outdated camera
  • No Touch ID
  • No MicroSD card support

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories