Texting and driving now banned in the State of New York
Starting on Sunday, getting caught texting while driving could result in a $150 fine in the State of New York. This is a secondary enforcement law which means that you can not get pulled over for tapping out a text message and steering your vehicle unless the officer is stopping you for another, more serious offense. For example, if you run a red light and the cop pulls you over and spots your TouchPro2 on your lap with an outgoing text message on the screen, be prepared to write out that $150 check. And while many states have not yet passed such a law, an article in Sunday's New York Times quotes a Times/CBS poll that shows that 97% of Americans would like to see a complete prohibition on texting and driving. 80% favor passing a law outlawing driving while talking on a cellphone. Half of those polled feel that those who are caught driving and texting should face the same severe punishments that drunk drivers face. What is the solution? 70% of those surveyed say that hands free calling is safe while 90% would like to see that practice made legal. The results came from a nationwide telephone survey of 829 people.