x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Home
  • News
  • Liveblog: Samsung's Nook tablet event

Liveblog: Samsung's Nook tablet event

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Liveblog: Samsung's Nook tablet event
Barnes and Noble had a short flirt with mobile, with its Nook HD and HD+ tablets, but the company has recently decided that it just doesn't have that magic touch which transforms silicon into money, and thus the entire Nook hardware division has been spun off.

Exactly what devices are to come out of this solo endeavor in the future is yet to be seen, but now, it's time for us to see what the book seller has created in cooperation with Samsung. Back in June, the companies announced that they are to announce co-branded Nook tablets this August, and here we are, about to experience the first fruits of this new partnership.

Starting at 9:30 AM ET | 8:30 AM CT | 7:30 AM MT | 6:30 AM PT | 1 PM GMT | 3 PM CET, we'll be live-covering the joint event, so if this is something you've been looking forward to, well, don't look further than our liveblog below!

Live event tracker

08:49And that's a wrap folks! A quick one indeed. We'll be checking it out, so check out the site for our hands-on soon! Thanks!
08:48And from what he's saying, it'll be available in stores today. You get a free trial of 4 magazines, in addition to some other goodies.
08:47Okay, so Huseby is back on stage. Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK will be available for $179
08:45Yet again, he's highlighting the tablet's unique experiences, like its expansive portfolio of media content.
08:43
08:43Ryan, who works for Barnes & Noble, is on stage doing his presentation.
08:42Tab S is regarded as the "best viewing" tablet, whereas the Tab 4 NOOK is targeted to offer the best "reading experience."
08:41Obviously, this is a step up over the last-generation NOOK HD Tablet, which didn't see an upgrade last year.
08:40Again, he's talking more about what the Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK has to offer to consumers; like being a great reading tool.
08:38
08:38TIm Baxter of Samsung is now up on stage.
08:37Essentially, they took the Samsung Galaxy Tab 4, and applied NOOK integration
08:37
08:36So far, no word regarding specs. Instead, he's going into the core experiences it has to offer.
08:36Based on the picture, and the actual device shown by Huseby, it looks like the usual Galaxy product.
08:34
08:34"It's the first Android powered tablet optimized for reading."
08:34Mike Huseby, CEO of Barnes and Noble is up on stage making the first remarks
08:33Here we go folks! Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK video is playing first. Award winning NOOK experience.
08:30The announcement just came on saying that the presentation is about to begin. Are we going to see an actual product? Or an app?
08:22We are seated and just waiting for things to start at this point.
08:19Good morning folks! John V here as your host for this Samsung-NOOK event, which is slated to start very soon at 9:30AM ET.
08:08Test

4 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Aug 2014, 08:23

1. modyt (Posts: 28; Member since: 23 Aug 2012)


You should add IST too.

posted on 20 Aug 2014, 08:38

2. CX3NT3_713 (Posts: 1960; Member since: 18 Apr 2011)


Another Nook tablet? Why....

posted on 20 Aug 2014, 08:52 1

3. Lt.Green (Posts: 388; Member since: 13 Mar 2014)


lame.

posted on 20 Aug 2014, 22:51

4. 0xFFFF (Posts: 3342; Member since: 16 Apr 2014)


"It's the first Android powered tablet optimized for reading."

Except it's not optimized for reading.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories